About Honors & Awards

Regents' Professors
The Regents' Professors, the highest of faculty ranks, is reserved for full professors with exceptional achievements that have brought them national or international recognition.

University Distinguished Professors
The University Distinguished Professors award honors faculty who have made sustained contributions of consistent educational excellence and have demonstrated outstanding commitment to undergraduate education.  The Call for Nominations is issued annually in mid-September.

University Distinguished Outreach Faculty
The University Distinguished Outreach Faculty award recognizes faculty who have made outstanding contributions to outreach at the University of Arizona, in the State of Arizona and the nation.  The Call for Nominations is issued annually in mid-September.

The Distinguished Scholar
The Distinguished Scholar awards are granted to three outstanding recently tenured and mid-career faculty who are making transformative contributions to their disciplines and to our University’s teaching, research, and outreach priorities.  The Call for Nominations is issued annually in mid-September.

Emeritus Faculty
Faculty who retire from the University, have served a minimum of fifteen years, and receive approval from the President are given the title of Emeritus.  Approved documentation from the department head and dean must be forwarded to the Provost for review.  The Provost submits the recommendation to the President for final approval. 

Author Support
The Provost’s Author Support Fund (PDF) is available to faculty or academic professionals whose workload description includes the expectation of research and publication, and who hold appointments in units reporting directly or indirectly to the Provost.